Wednesday, May 23, 2018



The Aviary 
Emily Shore 
(The Aviary Series, #1)
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: March 5th 2019
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult

I am nobody’s Swan.
Beauty is now a corporate commodity, bought and sold on city streets and displayed in elite Museums.
Sixteen-year-old Serenity has spent her entire life in hiding, to keep safe from this decadent world. Overnight, her parents disappear, and Serenity is kidnapped, sold at auction, and thrust into the Aviary—an illustrious Museum where girls are displayed as living art by day and at night, cater to the lascivious whims of men who bid on their exhibits. Serenity has much to learn about this enthralling but competitive world where girls go by names like Raven and Nightingale and will stop at nothing to become top Bird.
The enigmatic and deadly Aviary Director, Luc, soon idolizes Serenity’s purity and aims to turn her into his grandest exhibit of all time—The Swan. In no time, she becomes the most coveted exhibit in the Aviary’s history.
Soon, Serenity learns that Luc holds the key to finding, and freeing, her parents. To save them, she must learn to play the Swan to perfection to win Luc’s heart, earn his trust, and save her parents. She doesn’t count on the fact that she’ll develop feelings for Luc in the process. Now, she’ll have to face an impossible decision: escape The Aviary and lose her only chance at finding her parents; or become Luc’s Swan for good, and lose her identity forever.


Author Bio:
Emily Shore is a MN author with a B.A. in Creative Writing from Metro State University and was a grand prize winner of #PitchtoPublication, which led her to working with professionals in the publishing industry. Her anti-trafficking books Ruby in the Rough and Ruby in the Ruins are her first indie-published books with proceeds benefiting trafficking rescue organizations: Breaking Free and Women at Risk, International. This summer she will be debuting her first contemporary novel as well as re-releasing her paranormal series in the fall: Roseblood
Emily lives in Saint Paul with her husband and two little girls. In her free time, she enjoys connecting with rescue organizations and survivors of sex-trafficking, hearing their stories, and injecting their truths into her books for youth. She loves motivational speaking on the issue of sex-trafficking and is lining up more schools and libraries for the fall and winter, campaigning against sex-trafficking, baking, acrylic painting, interior decorating, and spending time with all the little girls in her life.
To learn more about Emily's work and the anti-trafficking movement, see her Facebook page where she regularly blogs: www.facebook.com/authoremilyshore and sign up for her newsletter through the Contact Me on her website: www.emilybethshore.com

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Sunday, May 20, 2018



Malevolent Sadness 
Julian Coleman 
(The Prophet’s Mother, #2)
Publication date: June 24th 2017
Genres: Adult, Horror, Thriller

***Contains Graphic Violence/Adult Content***
A new paranormal suspense thriller from the WINNER of The Independent Author Network 2016 OUTSTANDING BOOK of the YEAR. Can a detective save a Prophet from a monster? Harry is an Army veteran who survived a childhood tragedy and tough years in foster care. Today, he’s a pragmatic and no-nonsense Homicide detective investigating the Victor Adamson kidnapping. As he digs for leads, Harry realizes he’s in the middle of a dark conspiracy, and his life is in jeopardy. His only option is to save Victor. But to do that, he must embrace the supernatural. He has to believe monsters are real. If he doesn’t, then both he and Victor may die.
EXCERPT:
The shadow woman floated upward. Her elegant ascent was the most beautiful thing Harry had ever seen. Outside the wind screamed like a lost soul in perpetual torment. There was an inhuman quality in the sound, which convinced Harry he’d lost any chance of reasoning with Evie.
Edgar dipped inside a pocket and pulled out a stone. It was black, larger than a half-dollar, and etched with gold symbols. Edgar grinned without a glimmer of humor as he held up the stone like a talisman.
“I hope you rot in hell!” Edgar said as he faced down the specter.
She didn’t recoil.
As she floated closer, Edgar’s bravado wavered. Outside the wind’s fierceness kicked up and the soulful moan sounded more pained.


Author Bio:
I'm a Paranormal/Supernatural Award Winning author who grew up in Richmond, Virginia. As a child I suffered from night terrors. I'm sure you've heard of sleep paralysis which leaves you with the inability to move or speak. There are those of us who not only suffer the paralysis, but we see and hear horrible creatures. Most of the time, I had the good sense to keep my eyes closed. Yes, most of the time. Tell me, who wants to have nightmares about demons?
As I grew older, I realized some demons may not be hideous. To this day, I believe true evil is seductive, even beautiful. Unfortunately there are bad things you can't outgrow. You learn to cope. I did that by writing about demons who will sip your soul while giving you a kiss.
As an adult I also discovered that love transcends nightmares. I'm a dog lover and on several fortunate occasions my dogs entered my dream realm and saved me. The author in me couldn't resist, so in addition to writing about seductive demons, I've penned a tale about a mischievous pooch. If you want a chuckle then read about my canine diva. But...you may want to take a darker path with me. You may want to meet my demons. If that's the case, then I want you to be scared with me. Is that wrong? I don't just want to scare you, though. I want you to care about my characters. Because if you care about them, then you will be afraid for them too. Who knows, you could have nightmares about beautiful demons, too.

GIVEAWAY!

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 6:00 AM No comments

Thursday, May 17, 2018


Title: #Hater
Series: Hashtag #2
Author: Cambria Hebert
Rating: 

It started with unspoken animosity. The bitter bite of jealousy. And now its full blown hate.

It was during my first football game that I first felt the first chill of hate. I looked it right in the eyes and felt its sticky tentacles reach out for me. I’d never experienced something so cold and empty before.

The effect of that look lingered, like an unspoken promise, long after it was gone. 

Becoming a couple – becoming the other half of a campus celebrity wasn’t easy. I let down walls guarding my heart and he looked past my glasses and accident prone tendencies. Romeo and I are an unlikely match, a #nerd and a jock. But we made it. 

And we’re happy. 

Zach doesn’t want us to be happy. He wants Romeo to pay for getting him kicked out of Omega and for the night he spent in jail. He’s going to use anything and everything he can to get his revenge. Including me. 

As the weather on campus grows cold and the days become dark, revenge becomes the center of someone’s life and the happiness Romeo and I worked so hard for is threatened. 

I can’t help but worry that our love is going to be overshadowed by hate.

    

4.5 Stars! #Hater has been on my TBR for a while now. I loved book one and really think I hesitated to continue the series until it was complete (I really hate waiting for my HEA). But now, the Hashtag series has me in its grip and I can’t wait to read on.

Summary:
Haters gonna hate. That’s the way of the world, especially if you’re perceived as being on top. Being the other half of campus royalty when the whole includes Roman Anderson, isn’t easy. And Rimmel Hudson is feeling the cold, empty threat of true hate. It started at her first football game. It left her with a dark promise. Despite it all, the whispers, the snickers, the doubts, Romeo and Rimmel made it. They are a couple. They’re in love. Happy. No one’s more surprised than Rimmel, but Romeo looked past her #nerd label, glasses, clumsiness, and messy hair. And Rimmel opened her heart in spite of Romeo’s reputation and celebrity status. Everything's falling into place, and both Romeo and Rimmel are exactly where they want to be. Unfortunately, their happiness only causes more animosity. Zack doesn’t want them to be happy or to fulfill their dreams. He wants revenge; payback for losing his status on campus. And he’ll do anything to get it. Including using Romeo’s only weak spot. Rimmel. The love Romeo and Rimmel have worked so hard for, the love they crave becomes threatened by cold, malicious intent. Will their love always be overshadowed by the hate pointed at them, or will they rise above it and fulfill their dreams?

I did not want to put this book down. I fell hard and fast for Rimmel and Romeo from the very beginning, and this instalment only made me fall deeper. I really love that Rimmel doesn’t change who she is just because she’s with Romeo. I like that anything she did do different was an enhancement of the beautiful woman she already was. It made me want to be her best friend. Her confidence and carefree demeanor when she was with Romeo was amazing to see and witness. Romeo is still the cocksure, charming man he was before, with a fierce protectiveness thrown in for fun. I adored how he treated Rimmel, and how his priorities changed since he’s been with her. Football is his dream, but he also made it clear that Rimmel was his future, too. Their relationship in this book was the best. There was no denying their connection, and it flowed so easily off the page that you couldn’t help but sink into it and just feel. I loved it. The tension and conflict they are up against is a carry-over from book one, and had my heart racing at times. I know that cambria Hebert does quite a bit of suspense writing, so I was happy to see she brought some of that into this book, too. It wasn’t overdone or improbable either. Supporting cast is also a favorite of mine. Braeden is probably one of the best book best friends I’ve ever read. He’s supportive, friendly, charming, and funny as hell. I can’t wait to read about him in his own book. I’ve also come to love Ivy. She really turned out to be a great friend to Rimmel. Obviously, I disliked Zack. The dude is straight up crazy. The surprising thing is, I really kinda hate Valerie Anderson, too. I can understand protecting your only child, but da-yum! She took it way too far. Overall, this was an exhilarating read. I can’t get enough of the love between Romeo and Rimmel, but the bit of action was great, too. It also has humor. Not only in the banter between our characters, but also the Buzzfeeds. They are hilarious, and I like how they hint at the chapter contents. #Player here I come. ♡
 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 11:02 AM No comments


Dragon Equinox 
Ophelia Bell
(Immortal Dragons, #6)
Publication date: May 15th 2018
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance

With an all-out war waging in the Haven over control of the Source, immortal dragon Numa only cares about one thing: securing a powerful enough partner for a taxing ritual that will turn the tide of the war.
But Fate hasn’t made her task easy. Rather than show her who her fated mates are to be, the infuriating eternal entity she calls a father has made Numa the prize in a contest of the gods. Whoever wins the favor of Fate’s last unmated daughter shall have her as a mate. Numa sees this as an opportunity to secure a partner strong enough to complete the ritual, but isn’t prepared when all the contestants unexpectedly capture her heart.
Love should not be a factor when her entire world is at risk, so Numa knows she must choose between them. What does an immortal dragon do when given an impossible choice? She takes them all.


Author Bio:
Ophelia Bell loves a good bad-boy and especially strong women in her stories. Women who aren't apologetic about enjoying sex and bad boys who don't mind being with a woman who's in charge, at least on the surface, because pretty much anything goes in the bedroom.
Ophelia grew up on a rural farm in North Carolina and now lives in Los Angeles with her own tattooed bad-boy husband and four attention-whoring cats.
If you'd like to receive regular updates on Ophelia's publications, freebies, and discounts, please subscribe to her mailing list: http://opheliabell.com/subscribe/

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Wednesday, May 16, 2018


Title: A Breath of Witchy Air
Series: Wicked Witches of the Midwest #12
Author: Amanda M. Lee
Rating: 

Hemlock Cove is mired in a cold snap, which means the town is calm and quiet. That all changes in an instant when a beer truck tips over on the highway and half the town shows up to get drunk. 
Bay Winchester is about to be the sole owner of the town newspaper so she heads out to take photos … and accidentally stumbles over several bodies. It seems there’s a serial killer on the loose, although no one can figure out if the dump site was convenient or if the killer is local. 
Some hard digging leads Bay to a local college, where the only thing that stands out is a cell phone game that seems to be taking over the populace. Bay can’t shake the feeling that there’s something off about the game, but that pales in comparison to the dead girls and the motive behind multiple killings. 
Things spiral out of control when the game developers pick Hemlock Cove for a big event, which means the town is suddenly flooded with gamers … including Aunt Tillie, who decides that winning really is the most important thing. 
Things are about to get wicked for the Winchesters. There’s a killer in their midst and Bay appears to be displaying a new power that no one saw coming. 
It’s only a matter of time until two powerful forces collide. Who comes out standing is anybody’s guess but Bay’s new power will be on full display … and may be the ultimate factor in her survival.

    

This book begins with Bay and Landon moving finally being just two in their house, and Bay taking over the newspaper. But, when a freak accident happens where Bay ends up finding some bodies things start to go south quickly. Now, it is up to Bay and her friends to figure out what is going on, and how to stop it. 

This book was really good. I thought it was a great story, and I loved how Bay's character is growing in this story. It's great. She's starting to learn more and really turn into a great witch. I loved how it was more about her and how she dealt with things as well. I can't wait for more in this series now. 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 PM No comments


Three Day Fiancée 

Marissa Clarke 

(Animal Attraction #2)
Published by: Entangled: Lovestruck
Publication date: May 14th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

“Some things can’t be faked…”
Helicopter pilot Taylor Blankenship’s time schedule is maxed out. Between his job, his one hundred and fifty-pound slobbering mess of a dog, and his matchmaking grandmother, he has no time for anyone or anything-especially a woman. If only there were a way to get Grams to back down.
The job of New York City dog walker suits Caitlin Ramos perfectly while she preps for her CPA exam—steady, scheduled, and requiring very little human interaction; a huge seller since she’s still on the mend from a toxic relationship. Men suck. Especially her bossy hot client with the Saint Bernard that thinks it’s a lap dog. No way will she go for his plan to pretend they’re engaged to get his grandmother off his case. Down, boy.
Offered a bargain she can’t refuse, Caitlin finds herself playing the part of fiancée to Taylor. Fortunately, it’s only for three days. All she has to do is fake a relationship with Mr. Bossy Pants in front of his entire family, survive a fierce game of truth or dare with an unscrupulous pair of octogenarians, endure a one-on-one round of Twister with Taylor, and not lose her heart to a guy who turns out to be a lot more than she’d bargained for.
Are you a book reviewer?
Request a review copy here!


Author Bio:
Marissa Clarke is a multi award-winning, RITA® nominated author of romance for adults and teens. She lives on an island in the middle of a river. Seriously, she does. When not writing, she wrangles her rowdy pack of three teens, two Cairn Terriers, and one husband.
Inexplicably, her favorite animal is the giant anteater and at one point, she had over 200 "pet" Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. The roaches are a long story involving three science-crazed kids and a soft spot for rescue animals. The good news is, the "pet" roaches found a home... somewhere else.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Tuesday, May 15, 2018



The Rainmaker 

Petra Landon 

(Saga of the Chosen #2)
Publication date: March 30th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

As they race to untangle the past and thwart a power-hungry Wizard, Tasia must face her toughest decision yet. Can she take a leap of faith and risk her deadliest secret?
Tasia Armstrong is no longer a nondescript, friendless and naïve Wizard flying under the radar on the fringes of Chosen society. With her fate now publicly entwined with that of a powerful Shifter Pack, she must navigate the minefield of Pack politics while keeping her secrets and cover safe from the Chosen who hunt her. With a Pack to defend her, a powerful Alpha to protect her interests and friends to watch her back, her life is a far cry from before. But living with the Shifters holds new challenges for a Chosen more used to the shadows.
The stakes have never been higher as old fault lines, long-buried secrets, Wizard dysfunction, and Lady Bethesda’s ruthless machinations draw the Chosen ever closer to a civil war. While Tasia grapples to avoid the pitfalls and confront her demons, it is an unlikely nemesis who forces her to face her moment of truth. Tasia finds herself at the crossroads – at stake are her carefully constructed house of cards and her tangled relationship with the man who holds her enemies at bay. Will Tasia risk opening Pandora’s Box or will she disappear into the shadows again?
Author’s Note : The Rainmaker continues the story from The Prophecy. The books are not standalone and are intended to be read in order.
On sale for 99¢ for a limited time only!
EXCERPT:
“I …” Tasia paused, choosing her words with care this time. “My work with your Pack …” “Fuck the Pack.” His voice was very even. “This has nothing to do with the Pack. I’m talking

about us — you and me.”
“No.” She shook her head, wishing the noise in her head would abate and allow her to think


more clearly. “There’s no us.”
An eyebrow arched up in the near darkness. “So, that kiss in the cave …”
Tasia interrupted him. “I didn’t kiss you.”
He shot her a look.
“You kissed me” she insisted, responding to that look. “Both times.”
“No” he said unequivocally. “We’ve both been willing partners in this dance. I lead, but you’ve


been with me every step of the way.”
They stared at each other, the air between them charged with an awareness that they stood on

the edge of a precipice. She couldn’t discern his expression but she wondered what he read in hers, with his night eyes.
“Any time you’d like a demonstration, let me know” he remarked sardonically.
Tasia flushed. They’d been leading up to this moment, she realized. This was the dance he talked about. She should have put a stop to it before. Now, she’d have to defuse it carefully or the resulting conflagration would destroy her.
“I’ve been around the block a few times, witchling. You and I — we make our own fire, no tinder required. That’s not it. Something else has you stepping back. What is it?”
Tasia thought furiously, through the fog in her head. “You don’t get involved with Pack” she reminded him.

“I’m willing to make an exception for you” he said clearly.
Tasia blinked, once. He wasn’t going to make this easy for her.
“I did tell you once that I’d ignore my principles for the right person.” It was his turn to remind


her.
Tasia, who remembered the occasion well, said nothing.
“Am I to continue with the Pack?” she asked.
“Yes.”
She hesitated. “What happens if things … uh … don’t work out between us?”
He laughed, a sound singularly devoid of amusement.
“You’ve walked away from the Pack before. I didn’t let that stop me from going after you,


when I thought you were in danger. What does that tell you, witchling?”
Tasia couldn’t refute him. There was nothing to say. He would not let his personal feelings get

in the way of his responsibilities to his Pack or to her, no matter how bad things got between them. Then, something seemed to strike him. “Is it because I’m a Shifter?”
Tasia wondered wildly if he would accept that. Perhaps his pride would not let him pursue her if he believed that she wanted no part of a relationship with a Shifter. It would make her sound like a bigot. But she’d take that.
“Will you let this be if … if I have reservations about Shifters?” she asked hopefully.
“Hell no.” His response was immediate and forceful. “I’ll do my damnedest to change your mind.”
He frowned, something about her answer registering finally. “Is that what this is about — being with a Shifter?”
Again, he was forthright with his query, and Tasia realized she could not bring herself to lie to him. Like him, she too was willing to make an exception. For him.
“No” she admitted softly.
There was a short silence while Tasia tried to get her jumbled thoughts into order. The wild cacophony in her head was now so loud that it drowned out everything but his voice, even the gentle lap of water against the wall and the whoosh of the wind behind her.
“Let me simplify this for you” he said, the gold eyes holding her gaze. “Tell me what you want, and we go from there.”
“What I want?” Tasia repeated mechanically.
I can’t have what I want.
“Don’t tell me you don’t know what you want.” His eyes narrowed in the darkness.
Tasia shook her head, her eyes darting away as if to seek an escape. She’d have to walk away, she thought despairingly. She saw no other way out.
His initial fury having abated, Raoul was starting to use his connection to her, much as he had before, when he’d been so attuned to her unspoken words. He had realized it almost immediately, taking it in stride. He wondered if she had picked up on it yet.
“You told me once that you don’t run away” he reminded her, picking up hints of her roiling emotions.
Tasia said nothing.
“If you run from me because you don’t want to deal with whatever is between us, witchling, I will come after you.” His voice hardened as a spike of anger flared in him. “I won’t stand by again while you run recklessly into the fire.”
Tasia looked away from him. There seemed no way out of this impasse. He would not back away, not without an explanation from her. She could not give him one, not without endangering all sorts of secrets, and she was very much afraid that, unless she convinced him to walk away first, she’d eventually succumb to him.
Talk about jumping from the frying pan into the fire!
Raoul stared at her, puzzled by her inexplicable desire to deny that which sizzled like a living entity between them. He tried to piece together what he could sense from her.
Suddenly, it hit him. “You’re afraid!” he muttered incredulously.
This was the primary emotion he sensed from her, overriding everything else. He had sensed many emotions from her before but terror, the kind he sensed now, had thus far been reserved exclusively for the Clan.

She said nothing, neither confirming nor refuting his statement. Jolted, he took a step back. “Of what?”
Tasia stared at him mutely, her hesitation palpable.
“Of me?” he asked, his voice hoarse.



Author Bio:

An avid reader all her life, only recently has Petra allowed her own imagination to run riot. She loves to travel, loves the outdoors and reads everything she can get her hands on, time permitting. Her taste in books is very eclectic – she tends to like stories with vivid and quirky characters that have elements of fantasy, adventure, romance and mystery interspersed together. A good book for her is one that makes the reader think long after it has been finished and set aside. And, one that draws the reader back to it, again and again.
To share the tales that have lived in her imagination for so long is a labor of love and a lifelong dream come true for her.


XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM 2 comments

Bookmark Us

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

♥Blog Awards♥

2016 NetGalley Challenge
100 Book Reviews
80%